HinGabe

Library

The library of the Ethnographic Museum is a special scientific library open to the public. The thematic and regional faculties represented by the collected materials, research and teaching of the museum are found on the library shelves.

Special emphasis can be found within this context, for instance in terms of monographical sources on various religions, specific native-American and African provenance as well as the Himalaya region; magical and occultical concepts, religious Hindu customs, history, philosophy symbolism and Buddhist codes of practice, syncretic religious movements, furthermore ethno-historical sources and ergological and cultural-historical scientific literature in the area of the crafts.

A new emphasis of the library is the collection concerning the ethnology of China, which in the long-term will become its own specialized library – consisting mostly of scientific literature in Chinese language including literature in the language of all 56 ethnic groups in China.

Yet the library goes beyond these thematics in several subject areas, including a section on museology, a group of selected popular scientific literature and special work and study books for school groups.

Bibliothek

Die Bibliothek des Völkerkundemuseums ist eine öffentlich zugängliche wissenschaftliche Spezialbibliothek. Die im Sammlungsgut wie auch in Forschung und Lehre vertretenen thematischen und regionalen Fachbereiche des Museums finden sich in ihren Beständen belegt.

Innerhalb dieses Rahmens zeichnen sich bestimmte Schwerpunkte ab, zum Beispiel hinsichtlich monographischer Quellenwerke über verschiedene Religionen, speziell indianischer und afrikanischer Provenienz sowie des Himalayaraumes, magisch-okkulter Vorstellungen, religiösem hinduistischen Brauchtum, Geschichte, Philosophie, Symbolik und Praxis des Buddhismus, synkretistischer religiöser Bewegungen, ferner hinsichtlich ethnohistorischer Quellenwerke und ergologischer und kulturgeschichtlicher Fachliteratur im Bereich der Handwerke.

Ein neuer Sammlungsschwerpunkt ist die Ethnologie Chinas, die langfristig in eine eigene – vornehmlich mit chinesischsprachiger Fachliteratur beziehungsweise mit Fachliteratur in den Sprachen der 56 Völker Chinas ausgestattete – Fachbibliothek münden soll.

Doch greift die Bibliothek in einigen Sachgebieten über diese Thematik hinaus, enthält sie doch eine Abteilung über Museologie, eine Gruppe ausgewählter populärwissenschaftlicher Literatur und spezieller Arbeits- und Studienbücher für Schulklassen.