HinGabe

Collections

The Ethnographic Museum at the University of Zurich has a large collection of ethnographic objects from all over the world, stored in three depots and tended to by curators and restorers. Furthermore the museum has a textual archive, visual archive, sound archive and film archive, which are accessible for teaching and research.

The collections and archives are not accessible to the public, but rather are reserved for scholars and research – with the exception of the film archive, which can be accessed via the online data bank Moving Picturesand can be viewed at the library. The sound documents from all over the world can be accessed via a listening station of the Swiss National Sound Archives.

Our collections are frequently shown in publicly accessible exhibitions. Further, articles, books and films about the collections are produced and published at the museum. These are available for purchase at the museum reception or the onlineshop.

Sammlungen

Zum Völkerkundemuseum der Universität Zürich gehört eine grosse Sammlung an ethnographischen Objekten aus allen Teilen der Welt, die in drei Depots verwahrt und von den Kuratoren sowie Restauratoren gepflegt werden. Das Museum unterhält zudem ein Schriftarchiv, ein Bildarchiv, ein Tonarchiv und ein Filmarchiv, die für die Lehre und Forschung zugänglich sind.

Die Sammlungen und Archive sind nicht öffentlich zugänglich, sondern weitgehend Wissenschaftlern und der Forschung vorbehalten – bis auf das Filmarchiv, das über die Online-Datenbank Bewegte Bilder erschlossen ist und dessen Filme in der Bibliothek visioniert werden können. Über eine Hörstation der Schweizer Nationalphonothek können dort ebenfalls Tondukumente aus aller Welt angehört werden.

Unsere Sammlungen werden immer wieder in öffentlich zugänglichen Ausstellungen gezeigt. Daneben werden Artikel, Bücher und Filme zu ihnen verfasst und im Haus publiziert. Diese werden am Empfang des Museums und in unserem Onlineshop zum Verkauf angeboten.