Museum

The Ethnographic Museum at the University of Zurich is a social anthropology science museum. At the interface between the university and the public, the staff are committed to research- and practice-saturated teaching, collections conservation, object research and knowledge transmission. Our research focus is on human competences and skills in technical, material and social domains.

 

The Ethnographic Museum is the third oldest ethnographic museum in Switzerland and one of the few social anthropology university museums in the German-speaking area.

The Ethnographic Museum provides one of the University of Zurich’s many educational opportunities for the public, together with seven other museums and thirteen collections. We preserve, care for and explore an ethnographic cultural heritage collection of about 40,000 category A objects from the canton of Zurich. Within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, the museum is part of the Department of Social Anthropology and Cultural Studies (ISEK), alongside the departments of Social and Cultural Anthropology, and Popular Culture Studies.

Nowadays, ethnographic museums are experiencing a great deal of public attention. Questions around their objects’ provenance, of decolonizing the collections, of interpretative predominance and the right to representation, are omnipresent. We are actively tackling such questions through our collecting, research, teaching and dissemination. With regard to the object diasporas in our collections, today we work in close collaboration with their originator communities and the descendants of those who made and used these objects.

The Ethnographic Museum at the University of Zurich is a place of dialogue and joint reflection. Our exhibitions and events, which reveal insights into social anthropology research, encourage the public to join in discussions about relevant social anthropology topics. We intend to stimulate thinking together, to continuously open up and critically reflect upon ever-inquisitive and open-minded points of view, so that we can understand what it meant – and means – to be human.

Museum

Das Völkerkundemuseum der Universität Zürich ist ein ethnologisches Wissenschaftsmuseum. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Universität und Öffentlichkeit engagieren sich die Mitarbeitenden in Forschung und praxisnaher Lehre, in Sammlungsbewahrung, Objektforschung und Wissensvermittlung. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf menschlichen Kompetenzen und Fertigkeiten in materiell-technischen wie in gesellschaftlichen Bereichen.

 

Das Völkerkundemuseum ist das drittälteste ethnologische Museum der Schweiz und eines der wenigen ethnologischen Universitätsmuseen im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Das Völkerkundemuseum gehört, gemeinsam mit sieben weiteren Museen und 13 Sammlungen, zu den Bildungsangeboten der Universität Zürich an die Öffentlichkeit. Wir bewahren, pflegen und erschliessen eine ethnologische Kulturgütersammlung der Kategorie A des Kantons Zürich von etwa 40’000 Objekten. Innerhalb der Philosophischen Fakultät ist das Museum Teil des Instituts für Sozialanthropologie und Empirische Kulturwissenschaft (ISEK), zu dem auch die Fachbereiche Ethnologie und Populäre Kulturen gehören.

Ethnologischen Museen wird heute eine hohe öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit zuteil. Fragen nach der Provenienz von Objekten, nach der Entkolonisierung der Sammlungen, nach Deutungshoheit oder dem Recht auf Repräsentation, sind allgegenwärtig. Solchen Fragen nehmen wir uns in Sammlung, Forschung, Lehre und Vermittlung an. Im Hinblick auf die Objektdiasporas in unserer Sammlung arbeiten wir heute in engem Austausch mit Angehörigen oder den Nachfahren von Urhebergesellschaften der bewahrten Sammlungen.

Das Völkerkundemuseum der Universität Zürich versteht sich als Ort des Dialogs und der gemeinsamen Reflexion. In Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen werden Einblicke in die ethnologische Forschung gewährt, die die Öffentlichkeit ins Gespräch über relevante ethnologische Themen einbeziehen. Wir möchten zum Nachdenken miteinander anregen, den Blick öffnen für ein immer wieder neugieriges und offenes, immer wieder auch kritisch reflektiertes, Verständnis dafür, was es bedeutete und bedeutet, Mensch zu sein.